Copyright, All Rights Reserved




The SCFH is a non-profit organization established to support and maintain a natural preserve within the town of Fountain Hills AZ.  Its work is supported by contributions and gifts from individuals, corporations, and other non-profit organizations.  It is independent of the Town of Fountain Hills and receives no tax support.

The Fountain Hills Preserve provides over 1,000 acres of open space along the only wildlife access on the eastern side of the McDowell Mountains.  Adjacent to the southern, western, and northern borders of the preserve are Scottsdale's McDowell Sonoran Preserve and Maricopa County's McDowell Mountain Regional Park.  Together, these three areas provide a total of over 52,000 acres of contiguous Sonoran desert with limited and shared trail access.  This total area is crucial for native wildlife preservation.

The primary objective of the Conservancy is to create a financial and organizational resource that can be applied to the Fountain Hills McDowell Mountain Preserve in order to:

  • protect and improve the view of the mountains through re-vegetation

  • provide a safe and undisturbed area for wildlife on the eastern side of the mountains

  • support trailhead and trail development and maintenance

  • coordinate a program for volunteer trailblazers, trail stewards and trailhead hosts

  • provide opportunities for public education about the Sonoran desert




Co-Chairs - Pam Cissik, Jim Grajek

Secretary - Carol Carriere

Treasurer - John Haustowich




  • Carol Ayres - Hike Planning and Coordinator

  • Carol Carriere - Hike Planning, Botanical Garden Coordinator

  • Pam Cissik - Trailhead Host Coordinator

  • Bill Craig - Trailblazers

  • Paul Garvey - Trailblazers, Web Master, Technology

  • Jim Grajek - Trailblazers

  • Janice Holden - Community Outreach & Publicity, Education

  • Bill Jaeger - Trailblazers

  • Bill Myers - MMPC representative

  • Bill Schmidt - Education, Fountain Lake Islands


Board Member Terms:


  • Expiring end of 2019: Schmidt, Grajek

  • Expiring end of 2020: Carriere, Cissik, Craig, Garvey, Myers

  • Expiring end of 2021: Ayres, Jaeger, Haustowich, Holden